The Royal Agricultural University is a limited company.

There are up to 12 independent governors who are appointed to serve for up to three terms of three years on the Governing Council. In addition in June 2019 the articles of association were amended to include a Student Governor, a Staff Governor and the Vice-Chancellor.

Beneath the Governing Council are a range of sub-committees that either report to it directly or through the Vice-Chancellor's Executive Group; these sub-committees are chaired by Governors.

The University is run on a day to day basis by an executive group chaired by the Vice-Chancellor.