Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme

The Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme is a joint initiative between the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission and UK universities to support students from developing Commonwealth countries

The aim of the Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme (CSSS) is to assist students from developing Commonwealth countries who are of excellent academic calibre but for financial reasons would not otherwise be able to afford to study in the United Kingdom. The scheme allows them to benefit from postgraduate study at a university in the United Kingdom which will help them to contribute toward the development of their home countries.

For RAU applicants awards are for the taught Master's programme MSc Sustainable Agriculture and Food Security only. Further information can be found on the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission website here.

Type of award

Postgraduate Taught Master

Two scholarships are available and provide:

  • Approved economy airfare from your home country to the UK and return at the end of your award 
  • Approved tuition fees
  • Stipend (living allowance) 
  • Awards are for one year only


To apply for these scholarships, you must:

  • Be a citizen of or have been granted refugee status by an eligible Commonwealth country, or be a British Protected Person
  • Be permanently resident in an eligible Commonwealth country
  • Be available to start your academic studies in the UK by the start of the UK academic year in September 2024
  • By September 2024, hold a first degree of either First or upper second class (2:1) classification plus a relevant postgraduate qualification (usually a Master's degree). If you are applying for a second UK Master’s degree, you will need to provide justification as to why you wish to undertake this study
  • Not have studied or worked for one (academic) year or more in a high-income country
  • Be unable to afford to study at a UK university without this scholarship
  • Have provided all supporting documentation in the required format
  • Have applied for admission to RAU for the MSc Sustainable Agriculture and Food Security

The CSSS is a shared scholarship between the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission (CSC) and the Royal Agricultural University (RAU), and selected candidates have to be accepted and approved by both parties, hence the requirement to also complete the CSSS online application form. 

The successful and reserve candidates will be selected upon the recommendation of an academic panel and the Scholarship Committee.

How do I apply?

Applications for Commonwealth Shared Scholarships for the 2024/25 academic year are now closed.

Applications for these scholarships must be made using the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission (CSC) portal.

The CSC is unable to accept any applications or documentation not submitted via the online application system.

Successful and reserve nominees selected by RAU can expect to be informed by email in early April 2024. Final award confirmation should be expected by July 2024, once the CSC completes their criteria checks.

We are unable to inform unsuccessful applicants. If you do not hear from the RAU Admissions Office by the end of June 2024, please assume your application has been unsuccessful.

Contact us

For queries relating to an application to Royal Agricultural University please contact: